Skip to content

Random Friday Thoughts

August 14, 2009

Just a few things that I’ve been thinking about lately: 

  • Had a great vacation with the family.  It was nice to get away from it all and just relax.  I don’t think we do enough of that and we’re constantly stressed out about all of the plates we have in the air.
  • My one conclusion I came to on vacation – I have to start saying ‘no’ more often.  I say yes way too much and then I turn my life (and my family) upside down to make it all happen.  I’m going to work on this.
  • Mike Haberman of HR Observations , is going to do a series of posts on ISM’s. Racism, Ageism, Sexism – from a human resources perspective.  I love Mike’s blog.  He’s a solid HR thinker and contributor and I can’t wait to read the series (Read about it here).
  • I know I may lose some of the few followers I have over this, but I’m sorry, I’m so over the Michael Vick story.  I’m over it.  I agree with Tim Sackett  in his post on hiring Michael Vick.  One point Tim makes is that “Vick did do his time and is paying for his crime.  The question we need to ask ourselves is how would we treat him if he wasn’t famous?”  ‘Nuff said.
  • This conversation around universal health care has been disappointing.  The anger and the hatred that we’re seeing at these town halls is, well, scary.  I know that there are issues in the proposals that need to be flushed out but can’t we have civil discussions and not shout-fests?  Just because you’re the loudest, doesn’t make you right. 
  • Did we have this kind of angry display with HillaryCare? I don’t remember it being this bad, do you?
  • I’m hoping to start posting a little more frequently.  I’m trying to get in the habit of setting aside more time to write.  Any bloggers out there have any suggestions?
6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2009 1:15 pm

    hey, crystal. welcome back! i join you in the disappointment (and horror) around the health care reform debate. there was a terrific radio interview with ezra klein and a former republican congressman on NPR’s radio times this morning that was far more civil and instructive. http://www.whyy.org/91FM/radiotimes.html

    i’m also new to blogging, as you know! i’ve been aiming for two posts per week, which i find reasonable in terms of workload and freshness. i set up a schedule to allow me to write each post a few days before i want to publish it. this way i know when i’m going to write and i leave myself time to reflect/revise. i also have a hefty backlog of unfinished drafts in my dashboard, full of post ideas i wanted to capture before they left my colander-like mind.

    f

  2. August 14, 2009 1:28 pm

    Hi Crystal – Welcome back and absolutely great work that you have done with the HRevolution project, you are the best.

    I try to pick specific times to write, for me often that is early on weekend mornings. I try to collect ideas or ‘headlines’ during the week, and work on fleshing out the posts when I have an hour or two of ‘quiet’ time. But for me I think the key is to always be looking for ideas and topics so that when I actually sit down to write, I have lots of potential topics to explore.

  3. Crystal permalink
    August 14, 2009 10:24 pm

    @Fran – thanks for the link to the radio interview. I’m going to head over there now to listen to it. And I also have a few unfinished drafts. I need to start working on flushing those out. Thanks for the tips!

    @Steve – I’m excited about the HRevolution project. It seems to be coming together! Can’t wait to see you guys in Louisville!
    Good idea on collecting ideas and headlines and then flushing them out. You really get an hour or two of quiet time? I’m jealous 🙂

  4. August 15, 2009 8:12 pm

    Hi Crystal – I think the reason there is a more angry discourse on Health care is two fold. Different more turbulent economy with more unemployment, and the existence of social media.

    Both work together to give people a more public forum without requiring much effort

  5. August 16, 2009 8:31 am

    Hi Crystal,

    The good thing about a blog is that it’s not an obligation, unlike work and family. Those things are incredibly important and they will require the majority of your time and attention. With a blog you control the pace, tone, and quality of the content you produce. And your readers (the ones that follow because they enjoy your work) will be cool with that.

    You’re doing fine Crystal!

    Victorio

    PS Don’t forget to breathe 🙂

  6. Crystal permalink
    August 17, 2009 10:52 pm

    @Michael – The economy & social media? I believe those are factors but I think the level of anger goes beyond those two. No one’s being called on the carpet for spewing such hatred. Instead they’re getting their 15 minutes of fame (cable and social media) and that just fuels the fire.

    @Victorio – I hear you. As always, thanks for the kind words!

Leave a comment