Skip to content

Family and Facebook

August 4, 2009

I had the opportunity this past weekend to spend some time with my extended family. It was our family reunion weekend and we normally get together every other year. Over the last few reunions, we’ve been missing some people but we had a great turnout this year. I spent time with folks that I had not seen in years, and with family members I’d never met before. It was awesome. We had a wonderful time and we laughed a lot!

We usually spend the first night just catching up on the past two years but this time, with the help of Facebook, we didn’t have to.  While we weren’t that great at picking up the phone, we will comment on a status update and browse through the recent pictures posted. It was nice to not have to go through the catching-up phase and just get right to hanging out, sharing and laughing.

I had a great time! Oh, I already said that? Well, it was worth repeating! There’s nothing like family and while I may not see these folks on a regular basis, I know that they have my back and they would be here in a heartbeat if I needed them. And I would be there for them.

Looking forward to 2011! But in the meantime, I’m sure I’ll be seeing and talking to everyone on Facebook.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

