Skip to content

The Three-Legged Stool

September 25, 2009

Some days I feel like I need to go to a support group for working moms (Hi, my name is Crystal and I’m a working Mom).  I know I’m not the only one, but when you’re going through one of those really busy seasons, it can feel like you are.  And that was me for the last couple of months.  Summer activities.  Getting the kids ready to go back to school.  And then school starts and whoa, the paperwork, the meetings, the open house, join this group, sign up for that club. (deep breath) And the last two months also happened to be a very busy time at work. 

But I’m through the mad rush of activitiesupport!support!s.  We’ve settled into the school routine.  Things have somewhat calmed down at work and I’m feeling like I can breathe again.   While looking back over this busy season, I started to think about what helped me get through it.  Or better yet, who helped me through it – my wonderful support system.  As I was thinking about my support system, I was reminded of a three-legged stool and the three legs that partner with me to keep this train running include:

Quality schools and childcare– I am very pleased with the preschool and elementary schools that my children attend.  Not only are they surrounded by great teachers and support staff, but both schools also offer solid before- and after-school programs for those days when we need it.  We also have the benefit of having extended family nearby who can pitch in at a moment’s notice.

Flexible work Environment – I’m fortunate to work for a company that allows me to have some flexibility with my schedule.  I’m able to eat lunch with my children every now and then, chaperone field trips, and attend day-time school activities without feeling the pressure of having to be in the office at all times.  I also have access to email and files and can really get just about anything done remotely. 

The best husband in the world – And I’m not saying that because he reads this blog.  He really is the best.  We work together to make our household run as smoothly as possible and he has no problem taking on a little more when I have to spend a little extra time at work.  And I do the same for him.  It may not always run smoothly, but we get it done! 

Being a working mom is a choice I made.  I do not look for work-life balance.  I don’t think balance exists.  I just try to take one day at a time and do the best that I can.  And I remember to thank my support system often!   I couldn’t do it without them.

What support systems do you have in place to help get you through?

image courtesy mitchroberson
2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2009 11:29 am

    What a great concept! The support system *is* so key to having “the best of both worlds,” isn’t it?
    I would add that my friends and neighbors have shown up to be a HUGE support system for me these days as I ease back into spending more time on my business after having a baby 3 months ago. I am really practicing asking and receiving help from those around me, even if it’s not child care I pay for or my husband. This is important as I work to tranisition (and find) the more permanent “quality childcare” you talk about in #1.

    Nicola
    P.S. And isn’t it great to have an awesome husband? Makes a HUGE difference in surviving (and enjoying) life as a working mom!

    • Crystal Peterson permalink
      September 25, 2009 12:08 pm

      @Nicola – good point. Having great friends/neighbors is huge. And a great babysitter right down the street isn’t bad either! And I know I need to get better at asking for help. We sometimes want to try to do it all but there’s really no need for that, especially when you have folks around you that you can lean on.
      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

